American Exceptionalism

I had the chance to listen to Godfrey Hodgson; author of The Myth of American Exceptionalism, be interviewed on the Diane Rehm Show on NPR. The British author reminded me of a lot of the mythical ideas that most provincial Americans have. The vast majorities of people I grew up with, and my family members, have either never left America, or have only left to serve in the armed forces. They believe that America exists on some other higher plane than the rest of the world, and that the rules of the world do not apply to America. Most Americans simply believe that no one in the world lives as good as we do, and even if you are poor here you are still better off than people in other countries. However, as the author points out, these beliefs have no basis in facts. Personally I could easily see myself living at a standard of living as high as I live here, or higher  in places such as England, Ireland, Canada, Qatar, Saudi Arabia or any number of places.

5 thoughts on “American Exceptionalism

  1. Personally I could easily see myself living at a standard of living as high as I live here, or higher in places such as England, Ireland, Canada, Qatar, Saudi Arabia or any number of places.

    Of course, which is what I think most expats would tell you. I certainly haven’t had reason to complain about my standard of living in either Korea, when I lived there, or here in S’pore. In certain respects, my standard of living has been even better overseas than at home.

  2. The truth is, you can enjoy a decent standard of living in the vast majority of places in the world if you can figure how to make money. There are pros and cons to every place. So it comes down to making a very personal choice.

Leave a Reply

