Special Congratulations to Omar

I want to send a special congratulation to my good friend Omar for graduating from Marymount University in Arlington, VA. I know this brother worked long and hard on this and his journey was not easy. He was born in aisle 6 of a C-Town on Fordham Road to a Puerto Rican Vietnam Veteran father and a Turkish mother who is a coinsurer of clocks. This Turkorican attended Walton High School in the Bronx (a school that had a 20% graduation rate at the time) where he learned very little other than his analyzing phenotypes and worked with his Uncle at C-Towns and on vending routes form a young age. Later he traveled down to Northern Virginia and attended the Islamic Institute for Arabic and Islamic Sciences in America to study Islam while going to Northern Virginia Community College part-time where he continued his analyzing phenotypes and was  living with 10 other brothers in a one-bedroom apartment ( half of them being GED dropouts from Philly). He did all of this while working and supporting himself and riding his bicycle all over the DC area ( just as he had done in NYC as a bike messenger) before he received a scholarship to the Islamic University of Medinah. After attending the school for a brief time and almost causing an international incident he came back to the US and attended Marymount and worked many different jobs until last week when he received his degree in history. He now plans to become a teacher and is looking for a job. It was a long road for him but masha’Allah he did it so I am sending him a special congratulations and I guess I will have to take him to a Yankees game or something.

11 thoughts on “Special Congratulations to Omar

  1. Assalam-alaikam,
    Congratulations to the Turkorican brother with the excellent shirt, but I’m nosy, what did he do to almost cause an international incident?

  2. Congrats Omar. It’s always nice to hear about someones hard work finally paying off for them. Teaching is always a profession that is in high demand. I’m sure he’ll find a job no problem.

    And seriously, Umar… You right about an “international incident” almost occurring and than leave me hanging. I object greatly to that.
    Feel free to share :)

  3. Assalamu `alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh

    Alhumdulillah, Umar (Halit) has done it. I knew about the Turkish part, but I always thought he was joking when he kept telling me that he’s Puerto Rican.

    Khalil

  4. Congratulations!Brother Omar,not only did you grow and achieve~you inspire.
    I hope to be more like you when I grow-up.LOL (but not really kidding)
    You should tell your own story to motivate others,insha’Allah!

  5. Salaam ‘Alaikum

    Mabruk! I remember seeing him riding his bicycle all over the city back in the day, and at the masjid. I’ll be sure to let Abu Zaid know about this news, as he was fond of this young brother.

Leave a Reply

