Road Rage and Friday Thoughts

I’m too tired to get into it, but a guy riding in a pickup truck with a confederate flag on the back pulled a gun out and aimed at me yesterday after we argued about whether I cut him off or not, thank Allah that there was as a sea of oncoming traffic coming on as he pulled out the gun. That came two hours after someone tried to ram me with his car and then try and run me off the road because he thought I disssed him or something. Something foul must be in the air.

Linguistic Profiling
There was an interesting program on KWMU radio yesterday as Don Marsh discussed linguistic profiling with an expert. This profiling occurs when someone, for example, calls and asks about the availability of an apartment and if the voice sounds black they are told there are no vacancies and if they sound white they are given the sales pitch and welcome. I know that this discimination exists; a lot of people think I sound black on the phone and therefore when I look for an apartment I always have my sister call.

Indian Heaven
I had an attractive Native American women in the backseat of my cab the other day who was visiting from a reservation from South Dakota. Right before she got out of my cab at a downtown hotel she looked at me and said “give me your number, tomorrow I want you to take me to Indian Heaven!” I said to myself, so this is how they do it on he reservation and call it Indian Heaven…a moment later she was telling me that Indian Heaven is in fact Wal-Mart!

Quincenera
When I have time I will write a review of this film and I recommended the film to everyone even if I am not in agreement with all of its messages. What I liked most about this film was the fact that it touched every major social issue that I can imagine; race, immigration, gentrification and homosexuals as the pioneers of gentrification, class, teen sexuality, religion, family, gays in Mexican culture and more. Right now, because I am busy with another writing project, I do not have time to do this justice.

Leave a Reply

