Religous Policeman on Saudi Racism

I am linking to an excellent piece from an excellent blog about the mistreatment of workers and racism in Saudi Arabia and this is from 10-05. Because the brother is so thorough on the topic and lives in Saudi Arabia there is very little that I can add to the topic but I will relate a few stories about Saudi Arabia.

A good friend of mine was a student at the Islamic University of Medina and left the school to go and do some things in Riyadh and he decided to do an experiment. Because he is a Latino he has a look that could pass for a lot of things in the Middle-east and one day he went out dressed as a Pakistani and gave the greetings to Saudis and they didn’t’t return his greeting. He went on to do this with a few different styles of clothing and still got no greeting from the Saudis until he put on the traditional Saudi garb at which point he got the greeting from everyone.

Another friend of mine, a Palestinian, told me that at his school in the KSA non-Saudi boys were raped and that they were beaten by Saudi boys and if they tried to fight back they would be punished by the schools who would take the side of the Saudi.

The brother in his article also mentions the aspect of house cleaning that many Saudi do not even know how to do simple household chores anymore because they are entirely dependent on their maids ( maybe slaves is a better term). I can attest to this because in the 1990’s I interacted with many Saudi students in the US and most of their homes were absolutely filthy and the brothers explained to me that their wives were used to having maids cook and clean for them and were not used to having to do the work themselves so they lived in squalor in suburban condos. On a seperate note in my opinion most people who have maids are just too damn lazy to clean up after their own mess and no matter how much money I get I will never hire a maid.

I am not a big Saudi basher, even though I know that there is rampant racism in the kingdom, insane tribalism, wild government corruption, and a sexual abuse epidemic, and I should be a big Saudi critic. Perhaps the reason for me not wanting to attack the situation in the KSA is due to the fact that I have known so many pious Saudi brothers over the years, was educated by Saudis, admired many of the ulema of the KSA, and have friends of mine who have made hijrah there and love it ( and there are many Muslim attackers of the KSA who are admirers of the corrupt and incompetent Uthmani Khilafah that drove the ummah into the ground). But, there are very serious issues in the KSA that need to be addressed and this brother does a good job of exposing them.

One thought on “Religous Policeman on Saudi Racism

  1. Dear Blogger,

    I was searching racism for a school research paper and I found your Bolg entry.
    In honesty I feel truly ashamed of the stuff you mentioned ( I happen to be a Saudi ). But there are another places in which Saudi racism are not that apparent or not really in your face kind of attitude, Makka is the best example
    sorry this comment is a year late.

Leave a Reply

